Big East representative: Catholic 7 deal not final

A representative for the Big East Conference told NBC 10 on Thursday that a deal for the Catholic 7 schools to break off under the Big East name is not final.

NBC 10 has learned that the deal to send the Catholic 7 schools to their own conference will be discussed at a meeting in Atlanta on Friday. The remaining Big East schools' athletic directors and presidents are expected to be in attendance.

Earlier Thursday, ESPN reported that the Catholic 7 would be keeping the Big East Conference name. The report also stated that the move would happen next year, not in 2015 as previously reported.

The Catholic 7 are DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, St. John's, Seton Hall and Villanova.

Stay with NBC 10 News and for continuing coverage.