RI Music Hall of Fame announces 2014 inductees

From left are 2014 inductees Perry "Tiny" Tavares and Ralph Tavares (of Tavares), Duke Robillard, Ray Peterson and Winston Cogswell, (The Mark II), and Dell Padgett and George Smith (The Castaleers). Photo by Keith Fayan

The soul music band Tavares, singer-songwriter Cheryl Wheeler and blues guitarist Duke Robillard, were among the 2014 inductees into the Rhode Island Music Hall of Fame.

The announcement was made Friday at the Hope Artiste Village in Pawtucket. Induction ceremonies and a concert will be held May 3-4.

Also inducted were the late Randy Hein, Paul Gonsalves, Freddie Scott, Francis Madeira, Winston Cogswell and Ray Peterson who performed under the name The Mark II, and The Castaleers.

The Rhode Island Music Hall of Fame was formed in 2011.