NBC 10 Wins Three 2014 Edward R. Murrow Awards

NBC 10, the most watched television news station in Southern New England, has won three regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards recognize television, radio, and online news organizations worldwide for producing the best in electronic journalism. Since 2008, NBC 10 has won nine regional Edward R. Murrow Awards and three national Murrow Awards for Overall Excellence, Breaking News and Website.

"It is an incredible honor to be recognized by The Radio Television Digital News Association with multiple Edward R. Murrow Awards," said Chris Lanni, News Director. "We are proud to be the station that more Southern New Englanders turn to, and are dedicated to providing the most comprehensive news content and coverage in the market."

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) awarded 661 regional Murrow Awards in categories including: Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting and Website. A full list of winners can be found at the RTDNA's website: www.rtdna.org.

"RTDNA is proud to be able to honor the best of local broadcast and digital journalism with these prestigious awards while honoring the legacy of Edward R. Murrow," said RTDNA Chairman Chris Carl. "I would like to personally congratulate all the regional winners and wish them luck as they move on to the national competition."

NBC 10 won the small market television category for Breaking News for its coverage of the Boston Marathon Bombing on April 15, 2013. During the unfolding story, NBC 10 News mobilized multiple crews to Boston soon after the explosions rocked the marathon finish line. NBC 10 provided live coverage, anchored from the site and in Watertown by Dan Jaehnig and in-studio by Patrice Wood, to viewers in Southern New England and all over the world, through an affiliation with NBC News channel.

NBC 10 also won the category for Investigative Reporting for its coverage of Priest Sex Abuse Letters reported by the I-Team's Katie Davis.

Finally, NBC 10 won the category for Website with its Turnto10.com platform. According to the most current data available from ComScore, WJAR's main website is the most visited television website in the market. In February, it exceeded 8.5 million page views, an all-time record setting number.

According to RTDNA, the organization received more than 4,000 entries during the 2014 awards season. Regional winners will automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition in May. National awards, including those for network news organizations, will be presented at the New York Marriott Marquis in New York City on October 6.


RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTDNA represents local and network journalists in broadcasting, cable and digital media in more than 30 countries.

About NBC 10

WJAR-TV/DT is the most watched television station in the Providence-New Bedford television market and NBC 10 News is Southern New England's leading news station. WJAR was first launched as a radio station in 1922 and then became the market's first television station in 1949. WJAR-TV/DT is owned by Media General, Inc.

About Media General

Media General, Inc. is a leading local television broadcasting and digital media company, providing top rated news, information and entertainment in strong markets across the U.S. The company owns or operates 31 network-affiliated broadcast television stations and their associated digital media and mobile platforms, in 28 markets. These stations reach 16.5 million, or 14%, of U.S. TV households. Their network affiliations include CBS (12), NBC (9), ABC (7), Fox (1), MyNetwork TV (1) and CW (1). Sixteen of the 31 stations are located in the top 75 designated market areas. Media General first entered the local television business in 1955 when it launched WFLA in Tampa, Florida as an NBC affiliate. The company subsequently expanded its station portfolio through acquisition. In November of 2013, Media General and Young Broadcasting merged, combining Media General's 18 stations and Young's 13 stations into the 31-member group that exists today. Five of the stations have been on the air since 1949: WCMH in Columbus, Ohio; WVTM in Birmingham, Alabama; WJAR in Providence, Rhode, Island; KWQC in Davenport, Iowa; and KRON in San Francisco.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off